Upper Darby, PA – The Federation of Hellenic American Societies of Greater Philadelphia and Delaware Valley elected a new president, board, and staff at their final spring meeting for the season on Wednesday evening at St. Demetrios.

“I am very grateful to all for believing in me, and we should keep in mind that we are a community and must continue to work together. I congratulate the outgoing president and his staff for their service”, said new incoming president Georgia Chletcos. Chletcos is a well-known community member who has worked in many organizations throughout the years. She currently holds positions in the Hellenic University Club and the Greek American Heritage Society of Philadelphia.

Harry Karapalides, another long-time community member, was elected to the position of Vice-President of the Federation. Karapalides is a local attorney and judge with a familiar voice at the annual parade. He has been the MC for over 20 years.

Together, the two of them and the newly elected staff will be preparing and moving the organization forward to host the first post-covid parade that will introduce some new additions and formats to the parade.

Nearly a hundred members from around the Delaware Valley attended and voted at the meeting that past President Georgia Halakos launched. The selection committee consisted of Stathis Karadonis, Lambros Economides, and Zoe Tripolitis. Voting took place on paper ballots distributed to all members for each area to vote in. The nominating committee consisted of past presidents Demosthenes Vasiliou, Dr. George Ahtaridis, and Nick Spiliotis, who monitored the evening.

Acting President for election
Georgia Halakos

Nominating Committee
Demosthenes Vasiliou
Dr. George Ahtaridis
Nick Spiliotis

Election Committee
Stathis Karadonis
Lambros Economides
Zoe Tripolitis

New President
Georgia Chletcos

New Vice-President
Harry Karapalides

New Treasurer
Pete Papadeas

New Recording Secretary
Maria Agatsiotis

New Corresponding Secretary
Zoe Tripolitis

New Board
Dimitris Rozanitis – Chairman
John Vasiliou
Michael Economou
Artemis Tsingiropoulos
Dimos Giamouridis
Stefanos Evangelopoulos
Dimitris Psihalinos
Veronica Crisp
Danny Pithis